Join MRT E-News

Mission
Vision
Goals
Board of Directors
Road Sign Specifications

 

Mission
Mississippi River Trail is the leader in connecting people and communities with the river through development and promotion of multi-use pathways and bicycle friendly roads.[back to top]

 

Vision
The Mississippi River Trail connects people with the river, communities to each other, and the river and its unique history and culture to the nation and the world.

[back to top]

 

Goals
Defined in three categories, MRT, Inc.’s strategic goals include:

1. Organizational Development – MRT, Inc.’s vitality depends upon the growth and expansion of the organization itself. Defining priority actions, augmenting capacity, and improving fundraising are critical to the synergy of our work.

2. Route Development – Impacting the Mississippi River Trail by supporting transportation enhancement through community project planning, organized partner communications, and other means, MRT, Inc. helped bring over $33 million for trail construction projects along the river through earmarks in the SAFETEALU federal funding bill. Continuing the process of refining routes, seeking new trail opportunities, assisting communities with getting federal and state funding, and facilitating community efforts to plan and implement projects are just a few ways MRT, Inc. meets this goal.

3. Encouraging Use – Offering opportunities to plan a trip, learn more about the river environment in different states, engage in activities that support conservation, health and wellness, and economic development, post events on our calendar, attend conferences, participate in making the Mississippi River Trail part of your special experiences, and connecting you with other key trails in America are just a few of the ways we encourage trail use.

[back to top]

 

Board of Directors

The Mississippi River Trail Board Members are single-minded in purpose, dedication and key decision-making skills. By leading strategically, the Board ensures that the trail is continually developing in ways that benefit its users, communities, states and the nation.

 

Board Members:

Mark Ackelson
Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation
Des Moines, IA
mackelson@inhf.org

Todd Antoine, AICP (Chair)
Deputy Director for Planning
Great Rivers Greenway
tantoine@greatrivers.info

Andrea Chase
Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation
Des Moines, IA
achase@inhf.org


Board Member/Director :
Terry Eastin

Mississippi River Trail, Inc.
teastin@lynks.com

Deborah Jan Fagan
Deborah Jan Fagan
Planning Services
Slidell, LA
deborahfagannola@yahoo.com


Ken Gould
University of Arkansas
School of Law
Little Rock, AR
ksgould@ualr.edu

Ruth A. Hawkins (Vice Chair)
Executive Director
Arkansas Delta Byways
Jonesboro, AR
rhawkins@astate.edu

Briggs Hopson
Teller, Chaney, Hassell & Hopson
Vicksburg, MS
bhopson@tellerlaw.com

Tom Huber
Toole Design Group
Madison, WI
thuber@tooledesign.com

Dan Jatres
New Orleans
Regional Planning Commission
New Orleans, LA
djatres@norpc.org

Munnie Jordan
Delta Heritage Tours
Helena, AR
munnie@suddenlink.net

Sarah Lande
Retired, Executive Director
Iowa Sister States
Muscatine, Iowa
slande@machlink.com

Suzanne Pepin
Retired Senior Vice President, Allianz Life Insurance
Minneapolis, MN
chezpepin@mac.com

Michael W. Rewey, P.E
Madison, Wisconsin
hiwayman@chorus.net

Joe Royer
President, Outdoors Inc.
Memphis, TN
joeroyer@outdoorsinc.com

Joe Taylor, President & CEO
Quad Cities
Convention & Visitors Bureau
Moline, IL
jtaylor@visitquadcities.com

Terry Whaley
Ozark Greenways, Inc.
Springfield, MO
terry@ozarkgreenways.org

Christopher W. Williams, AIA
Owner
Christopher W. Williams, Architect
Pineville, LA 71360
cwwarchitect@suddenlink.net

[back to top]

Road Sign Specifications

Sign standards - an alternate version of the the M1-9 federal highway sign was approved by the Federal Highway Administration in 1996. The sign, size and specification is the M1-9, however, the standard was modified as follows: a reflective green border and reflective blue legend was approved in lieu of black. The sign conforms with MUTCD standards, as written at time of approval, and is used by state highway departments for all signed portions of the MRT route. For a copy of the Federal Highway Administration approval letter, please contact Terry Eastin at terry@mississippirivertrail.org.

[back to top]